Sidereal or tropical zodiac?

Considera wants to assist in the research of 'planting by the stars'. Please limit your input to this discipline in this forum.
jim hebert

Hi:

I am new at this. In regards to planting using the moon and the constellations, should I use the tropical zodiac or the sidereal? If I'm not mistaken, the moon differs by as much as a whole month depending which is used. Why is the difference in the 2 systems?
Mark
Site Admin

That is a good question. Glen Atkinson writes about this various zodiacs and Nick Kollerstrom's upcoming book Farmer's Moon also does. You can look at this page to discuss it bit further: http://considera.org/pbtsplanttime.html

One of the reasons for this site is to nail this question as there are those who swear by each system and the main BD work is with the constellations which is different again.

If we get enough results perhaps we'll know which one the plants do listen to...
captaindot

According to my observations with thirty of experience, I concur with the conclusions of Maria Thun and my former mentor, Wolf Storl that the gardener stands with his feet place firmly on the ground and looks into the sky for the indications. Thus the siderial calender would be the more accurate.
jim hebert

It seems the most logical. You have a webpage on Maria Thun and your former mentor, Wolf Storl? I like to read as much as I can.
captaindot

Re: Sidereal or tropical zodiac?

jim hebert wrote:It seems the most logical. You have a webpage on Maria Thun and your former mentor, Wolf Storl? I like to read as much as I can.
Hopefully I will have some info there eventualy. Really don't have much time for bloggin lately between gordening and working. Wolf moved to Germany many years ago. America was a strain on his spirit. we were good freinds but have lost touch lo these many years. All I know about Maria Thun is what I have read. Wolf does have a website but it is in German. http://www.storl.de/